VAR within the highlight once more: The contentious choices in Nottingham Forest’s draw with Brentford | Soccer Information

Nottingham Forest and Brentford’s 1-1 draw on Sunday left VAR beneath the highlight for a second consecutive day following Tottenham’s acrimonious 2-1 win over Liverpool on Saturday.

PGMOL was pressured to apologise to Liverpool for incorrectly disallowing Luis Diaz’s aim for offside in Saturday’s recreation and there have been extra VAR flashpoints on the Metropolis Floor 24 hours later.

Nicolas Dominguez’s header cancelled out Christian Norgaard’s aim to clinch a degree for Forest after that they had had Moussa Niakhate despatched off for a second yellow card following a VAR examine.

However the outcome left each Forest boss Steve Cooper and Brentford’s Thomas Frank feeling aggrieved about VAR’s choices, intensifying the scrutiny of officers on a turbulent Premier League weekend.

Brentford’s handball penalty appeals rejected

Please use Chrome browser for a extra accessible video participant

Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink was bemused by the refereeing choices that led to Brentford having two penalty appeals rejected in fast succession

THE INCIDENT: In first-half stoppage time, Forest’s Dominguez jumps for a header with Brentford’s Vitaly Janelt within the Forest field and seems to deal with the ball with an arm raised above his head.

Nicolas Dominguez raises his arm in the direction of the ball


The ball then drops in the direction of Forest centre-back Willy Boly and bounces into his hand after Kristoffer Ajer’s try to regulate it.

The ball then strikes Willy Boly on the hand

THE VAR DECISION: Brentford’s penalty appeals are waved away by referee Paul Tierney and VAR don’t intervene. The primary of the 2 appeals is disregarded resulting from proximity, with Dominguez’s hand deemed to be too near Janelt for VAR Michael Oliver to award a penalty.


Brentford boss Thomas Frank: “I feel some managers would say sure, positively clear two penalties. I’d most likely say, I can see them being given, I can see them not being given.”

Nottingham Forest boss Steve Cooper: “If one or two issues have gone our means, then it is about time. I have not seen them. I have not acquired a clue what handball is – even when I had seen them.”

Sky Sports activities pundit Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink on the Dominguez incident: “You do not soar like that. If that touches his arm it needs to be a penalty. On the final second he tries to drag his arm away, however, after all, his hand goes to be so shut as a result of he is leaping within the incorrect means. That is not a pure soar.

“In fact it’ll be shut! Gamers get shut to one another – particularly once you head the ball! You may’t soar like that. You recognize you are going to be in bother if the ball hits your arm. It is unnatural.”

Please use Chrome browser for a extra accessible video participant

FREE TO WATCH: Highlights from Nottingham Forest’s draw in opposition to Brentford

Sky Sports activities pundit Michael Dawson on the Dominguez incident: “If it is clear Dominguez has touched it along with his arm there, Forest have gotten away with one. He isn’t acquired his eyes on the ball, his arms are above his head. Whether it is, VAR have gotten that incorrect.”

Sky Sports activities co-commentator Alan Smith on the Boly incident: “You by no means fairly know with handballs, do you? It pops up and I simply do not suppose Willy Boly can get his arm out of the way in which. Not for me. I feel that is the fitting name.”

Niakhate will get second yellow for Wissa foul

Please use Chrome browser for a extra accessible video participant

Moussa Niakhate noticed crimson after VAR intervened on the Metropolis Floor

THE INCIDENT: Having already been booked within the first half, Niakhate fouls Yoane Wissa from behind because the Brentford striker runs ahead on the break.

THE VAR DECISION: The referee awards the free-kick after which brandishes the second yellow card following a VAR examine, with replays exhibiting Niakhate’s studs landed on the again of Wissa’s calf.


Nottingham Forest boss Steve Cooper: “All of us need referees to be on the degree. They’re clearly going via a troublesome time. They actually wanted a transparent and concise efficiency at present however, sadly, they’ve raised extra questions.

Please use Chrome browser for a extra accessible video participant

Steve Cooper believes extra clarification is required on the handball rule from the PGMOL as ‘no one is aware of’ what needs to be given for handball

“I did not really feel it was a second yellow. The primary one [yellow] I am irritated at Moussa about as he did not have to lunge in.

“The second you want a little bit of widespread sense and recreation know-how to make the fitting choice. I’ve little question that, if he did not give a yellow, you would not have talked about it to me. In fact it is unintended.”

Sky Sports activities co-commentator Alan Smith: “Oh expensive. He comes proper down on the calf. It is an sincere sufficient try to win the ball however once you’re the incorrect facet like that…

Wissa felled by Turner however no penalty given

Please use Chrome browser for a extra accessible video participant

Wissa was caught by Turner after dispossessing him within the Forest field

THE INCIDENT: Wissa places Matt Turner beneath strain in his personal field and wins the ball earlier than being introduced down by the Forest goalkeeper as he makes an attempt to clear the ball too late.

THE VAR DECISION: The incident is checked by VAR however they don’t deem it a penalty and play continues.

Turner’s late clearance noticed him make contact with Wissa

Brentford boss Thomas Frank: “It is a clear penalty. I feel, sadly, that is a mistake from VAR. Sadly our gamers are too sincere. Possibly we have to be somewhat bit extra smart than that. However I will not say that to my gamers, I like sincere gamers.”

Please use Chrome browser for a extra accessible video participant

Thomas Frank says Turner’s problem on Wissa was the clearest penalty out of the three appeals in opposition to Nottingham Forest

Sky Sports activities pundit Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink: “The goalkeeper misjudges it and kicks the striker. If he would not misjudge it, Wissa can go and rating. How that isn’t a penalty, I am bemused. It is a penalty. 100, million per cent, it is a penalty. No dialogue.”

Sky Sports activities pundit Michael Dawson: “Anyplace else on the pitch, that may be a free-kick. I’d agree that Brentford acquired the incorrect finish of the choice.”

VAR thought Diaz aim in opposition to Spurs had been awarded

Please use Chrome browser for a extra accessible video participant

Because the fallout continues from Luis Diaz’s disallowed aim throughout Liverpool’s loss at Tottenham, Sky Sports activities makes an attempt to clarify the place the officers went incorrect, after the PGMOL admitted their mistake

Luis Diaz’s aim for Liverpool at Tottenham on Saturday was incorrectly disallowed for offside after the VAR mistakenly believed the on-field choice had been to award the aim.

The PGMOL admitted instantly after Tottenham’s 2-1 win that “a big human error occurred” when Diaz’s strike was dominated out, including: “This was a transparent and apparent factual error and will have resulted within the aim being awarded via VAR intervention.”

It was initially believed that VAR Darren England had did not examine whether or not a Tottenham defender had performed Diaz onside by drawing the on-screen strains.

However, in a exceptional twist, it has now emerged the VAR incorrectly thought the on-field choice was {that a} aim had been awarded, when in truth it had not been.

This resulted in England, regardless of realising that Diaz was onside, relaying a message of ‘examine full’ and the aim being dominated out.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button